Nearly one hundred former QMJHL players on 2021-22 AHL opening night rosters

Montreal, QC – The American Hockey League (AHL) has unveiled the rosters of its 31 teams for the 2021-2022 regular season and among them are 97 players who have passed through the QMJHL ranks before making the jump to the pro ranks.

These former QMJHL members were on the list of active players for their respective teams, or on their list of injured players, at the start of the current season.

The Rochester Americans team is the only one that does not feature any QMJHL alumni on its roster. On the flip side, the Montreal Canadiens farm team, the Laval Rocket, is made up of an impressive total of 11 players from the Q, the highest number of alumni on a single AHL roster. Just behind Laval are the Syracuse Crunch and the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins, who each have nine QMJHL representatives.

It is to be noted that forward Ryan Francis, who began the season with the Stockton Heat, has since been returned to the Saint John Sea Dogs.

Here is the list of QMJHL alumni in the AHL:
Abbotsford Canucks (1)
Vincent Arseneau

Bakersfield Condors (3)
Raphaël Lavoie, Olivier Rodrigue, Ostap Safin

Belleville Senators (8)
Jonathan Aspirot, Philippe Daoust, Maxence Guenette, Kameron Kielly, Kevin Mandolese, Matt Murphy, Cédric Paré, Egor Sokolov

Bridgeport Islanders (3)
Samuel Bolduc, Arnaud Durandeau, Dmytro Timashov

Charlotte Checkers (2)
Christopher Gibson, Luke Henman

Chicago Wolves (3)
Cavan Fitzgerald, Éric Gélinas, Spencer Smallman

Cleveland Monsters (1)
Jean-François Bérubé

Colorado Eagles (4)
Justin Barron, Alex Beaucage, Gabriel Fontaine, Benjamin Tardif

Grand Rapids Griffins (3)
Jared McIsaac, Joseph Veleno, Dennis Yan

Hartford Wolf Pack (1)
P.C. Labrie

Henderson Silver Knights (1)
Daniil Miromanov

Hershey Bears (1)
Zach Fucale

Iowa Wild (2)
Dereck Baribeau, Alexander Khovanov

Laval Rocket (11)
Jean-Christophe Beaudin, Gabriel Bourque, Laurent Dauphin, Jean-Sébastien Dea, Alexandre Fortin, Brandon Gignac, Raphaël Harvey-Pinard, Danick Martel, Carl Neill, Xavier Ouellet, Tobie Paquette-Bisson

Lehigh Valley Phantoms (1)
German Rubtsov

Manitoba Moose (3)
Thomas Caron, Leon Gawanke, Jimmy Oligny

Milwaukee Admirals (2)
Frédéric Allard, Anthony Richard

Ontario Reign (2)
Martin Frk, Jordan Spence

Providence Bruins (4)
Samuel Asselin, Callum Booth, Jakub Lauko, Alex-Olivier Voyer

Rochester Americans (0)

Rockford IceHogs (1)
Nicolas Beaudin

San Diego Gulls (5)
Morgan Adams-Moissan, Simon Benoit, Nikolas Brouillard, Hunter Drew, Vincent Marleau

San Jose Barracuda (3)
Artemi Kniazev, Nicolas Meloche, Adam Raska

Springfield Thunderbirds (2)
Nikita Alexandrov, Mathias Laferrière

Stockton Heat (5)
Ryan Francis, Alex Gallant, Jakob Pelletier, Mark Simpson, Dmitry Zavgorodniy

Syracuse Crunch (9)
Gabriel Dumont, Shawn Element, Gabriel Fortier, Charles Hudon, Jimmy Huntington, Maxime Lagacé, Antoine Morand, Otto Somppi, Daniel Walcott

Texas Stars (1)
Jérémy Grégoire

Toronto Marlies (2)
Mikhail Abramov, Jeremy McKenna

Tucson Roadrunners (2)
Michael Carcone, Bokondji Imama

Utica Comets (2)
A.J. Greer, Jérémy Groleau

Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins (9)
Michaël Chaput, Louis Domingue, Alex D’Orio, Jan Drozg, Samuel Houde, Pierre-Olivier Joseph, Nathan Légaré, Christopher Merisier-Ortiz, Samuel Poulin

– 30 –

Maxime Blouin
Directeur des communications et des relations médias
Director, Communications and Media Relations
C: 418-554-1872 | E: |

More News
Gauthier, Potvin, and Squires nominated for Humanitarian of the Year Award
4 weeks ago
The QMJHL is launching its recruitment campaign to fill the position of League Commissioner
5 months ago
Videotron Team of the Week | 2022-2023 | Week 5
7 months ago
Videotron Team of the Week | 2021-2022 | Week 17
1 year ago
1 year ago
Videotron Team of the Week | 2021-2022 | Week 10
1 year ago